Special Education Testing

Testing is coordinated for all programs so that a student is placed in the proper program when testing is completed. Parent permission is necessary before doing any individualized testing on a child which may result in the child’s placement in special education.

Any parent or staff member who suspects that their child may have a disability is encouraged to speak to the child’s teacher, building special education teacher or principal.

Other Special Education Alternative Programs

For students who have such significant educational needs that they cannot be appropriately served in the regular classroom or Resource program, the District offers placement in one of several self-contained classrooms in the District. For students with moderate to severe intellectual disabilities, the District runs self-contained classrooms at Hawthorne Elementary and Sweet Home High School. A classroom for elementary students with significant behavioral needs is housed at Oak Heights.

Miscellaneous Services

Homebound services for ill students, home schooling coordination with the ESD, Youth Services Team coordination, English Language Learners, Alternative Learning Options development, Early Intervention referral and consultation for special needs students 0-4 years of age, and development and coordination of the District’s Behavior Management plan are provided.

Child Find

If you have or know of any child from age birth to age five with any kind of a disability, please contact Student Services. There is help available through Early Intervention to assist these children long before they enter the school system.

House Bill 4140 – Traumatic Brain Injury

Traumatic Brain Injury Accommodations Form

 

(The Sweet Home School District Student Services keeps and maintains Special Education Records for District Students.  These records will be maintained for five years.  After five years the records will be destroyed, unless a parental or eligible student request is made to retain the records.)

 

Special and Alternative Education Teachers

School: Name: Email:
Holley Kelley Deckard Kelley.Deckard@sweethome.k12.or.us
Oak Heights Joan Tolle Joan.Tolle@sweethome.k12.or.us
Hawthorne Jeffrey VanEpps Jeffrey.VanEpps@sweethome.k12.or.us
Hawthorne Teresa Wilson Teresa.Wilson@sweethome.k12.or.us
Hawthorne Lisa Collins Lisa.Collins@sweethome.k12.or.us
Foster Sarah Harkin Sarah.Harkin@sweethome.k12.or.us
Foster tba
Junior High Allison Ellis Allison.Ellis@sweethome.k12.or.us
Junior High Cathy Brands-Hawken Cathy.BrandsHawken@sweethome.k12.or.us
Junior High Angie Yon Angie.Yon@sweethome.k12.or.us
High School Robyn Lindsey Robyn.Lindsey@sweethome.k12.or.us
High School Ramona Perez Ramona.Perez@sweethome.k12.or.us
High School Richard Smithson Richard.Smithson@sweethome.k12.or.us
High School Eric Stutzer Eric.Stutzer@sweethome.k12.or.us
High School Nathan Whitfield Nathan.Whitfield@sweethome.k12.or.us