Special Education Testing

Testing is coordinated for all programs so that a student is placed in the proper program when testing is completed. Parent permission is necessary before doing any individualized testing on a child which may result in the child’s placement in special education.

Any parent or staff member who suspects that their child may have a disability is encouraged to speak to the child’s teacher, building special education teacher or principal.

Other Special Education Alternative Programs

For students who have such significant educational needs that they cannot be appropriately served in the regular classroom or Resource program, the District offers placement in one of several self-contained classrooms in the District. For students with moderate to severe intellectual disabilities, the District runs self-contained classrooms at Hawthorne Elementary and Sweet Home High School. A classroom for elementary students with significant behavioral needs is housed at Oak Heights.

Miscellaneous Services

Homebound services for ill students, home schooling coordination with the ESD, Youth Services Team coordination, English Language Learners, Alternative Learning Options development, Early Intervention referral and consultation for special needs students 0-4 years of age, and development and coordination of the District’s Behavior Management plan are provided.

Child Find

If you have or know of any child from age birth to age five with any kind of a disability, please contact Student Services. There is help available through Early Intervention to assist these children long before they enter the school system.

Special and Alternative Education Teachers

School: Name: Phone: Email:
Holley Tina Tressel 541-367-7162 Tina.Tressel@sweethome.k12.or.us
Oak Heights Kelley Deckard 541-367-7165 Kelley.Deckard@sweethome.k12.or.us
Oak Heights Joan Tolle 541-367-7165 Joan.Tolle@sweethome.k12.or.us
Hawthorne Kayla Hunt 541-367-7167 Kayla.Hunt@sweethome.k12.or.us
Hawthorne Teresa Wilson 541-367-7167 Teresa.Wilson@sweethome.k12.or.us
Hawthorne Lisa Collins 541.367-7167 Lisa.Collins@sweethome.k12.or.us
Foster Brandi McMahand 541-367-7180 Brandi.McMahand@sweethome.k12.or.us
Junior High Donna DiPietro 541-367-7187 Donna.DiPietro@sweethome.k12.or.us
Junior High Joel Applebaum 541-367-7187 Joel.Applebaum@sweethome.k12.or.us
Junior High Kathy Parsons 541-367-7187 Kathy.Parsons@sweethome.k12.or.us
High School Nathan Whitfield 541-367-7198 Nathan.Whitfield@sweethome.k12.or.us
High School Ramona Perez 541-367-7142 Ramona.Perez@sweethome.k12.or.us
High School Susan Johnson 541-367-7146 Susan.Johnson@sweethome.k12.or.us
High School Theo White 541-367-7158 Theo.White@sweethome.k12.or.us